Reef Check 2021

Reef Check EcoDiver course & surveys 2021 at Marsa Shagra

From 5th to 12th august 2021, another Reef Check course with subsequent reef surveys took place again as part of our reef monitoring program at Red Sea Diving Safari (RSDS).
Like last time we were located in Marsa Shagra again.
In 2020 the Reef Check activities unfortunately had to be cancelled due to a certain nasty little virus….
But this year there were almost no obstacles in our way (except some not worth mentioning travel formalities) and so the first course and surveys since 2019 was unstoppable !
Who could, was vaccinated and tested anyway, RSDS had implemented an appropriate hygiene concept, the entire staff had already been vaccinated in spring.

 

Our dynamic survey team of seven participants came from Egypt, Austria, Czech Republic and Germany, ranging in age from 10 to 64 years. Some of them had been regularly participating in the surveys for many years. Quickly they all got to know each other during the EcoDiver course and formed alternating buddy teams later on for the surveys.

The EcoDiver course pays special attention to human impacts on the reef: overfishing, mechanical damage, overfertilization, pollution and trash, as well as coral bleaching or coral diseases and also indication of possible imbalances within the ecosystem. For the four course participants, this approach was new – as recreational divers, they had previously paid their attention especially to (large) fish, or conspicuous corals and invertebrates, and not so much to “how the corals are doing”, details in the substrate cover, feeding scars, algae & sponges, fishing lines or coral damage by divers or boats. You can say the “underwater perception” changes through the course.

The 4-day EcoDiver course includes four theory presentations: Introduction & Reef Check method, Fish, Invertebrates & Human Impacts, Substrate (corals, algae, reef rock, sand etc.).
The “Beach Exercise“, where the Reef Check method is practiced on land, took place for the first time not on the beach but in the restaurant. Nevertheless, we had a lot of fun again and could hardly wait to apply what we had learned during the real surveys in the reef.
We conducted two training dives in the reef every day, practicing indicator organism identification and underwater hand signals, as well as conducting a test survey.
At the end of the course, were the tests. But that was no problem at all, all participants successfully passed and are now certified Reef Check EcoDivers.
There were a total of 200 photos of fish, invertebrates, substrate categories, as well as human influences, such as coral rubble, garbage or fishing lines to recognize… and some one even expressed that the tests had been fun…

As usual, the course was followed by five Reef Check Surveys along two depth contours. These were the sites for our reef surveys this time:

Abu Nawas Garden
Marsa Shagra nord
Marsa Shagra süd
Sharm Abu Dabab
Marsa Gabel El Rosas nord

The buddy teams rotated through over the course of the days. Thus, each participant was conducting the three different surveys (fish, substrate and invertebrates/human impacts) at least once and recorded the data.
Sometimes the egyptian marine biologist formed a buddy team together with the 10 year old Open Water Diver, or the newly certified EcoDiver with the Divemaster with 10 years of Reef Check experience.

The first survey started at Sharm Abu Dabab. The substrate team determined a coral cover of 41 % (hard corals (HC) 38 % ; soft corals (SC) 3 %) along the 8.5 m depth contour. In the shallower, i.e. light-rich 3.5 m depth contour, the total coral cover was even 55 % (HC 51 % ; SC 4 %).
In the fish survey at Sharm Abu Dabab, as at almost all other sites, butterflyfishes were the most abundant fish group with 5.75 (at 8.5m depth) and 7.5 (at 3.5m depth) individuals per 20 m transect. Parrotfish followed with 4 (at 8.5m depth) and 4.25 (at 3.5m depth) individuals per 20 m transect. Grouper, an indicator of overfishing, averaged only one individual per 20 m transect across both depth levels. In 2019, a new jetty was built just about 20 m from the survey site, possibly increasing fishing here.
We did not detect any coral damage or trash.
For invertebrates, we found only reef clams at both depth levels. The nocturnal sea urchins, shrimp or lobsters hid deep in the crevices and caves in the reef. During our night dives we could observe them, as well as many other interesting creatures.

This was followed by surveys at Marsa Shagra house reef, at the north and south side of the outer reef. In Marsa Shagra north we found the highest coral cover of all survey sites with 74 % (3.5 m depth) and 59 % (8.5 m depth), as well as the most parrotfish and groupers, with an average of 8.5 and 1.75 individuals per 20m transect, respectively.
In Abu Nawas Garden we found the most butterflyfish with 10 individuals per 20 m transect.
The survey site on the north side of the long and narrow bay of Marsa Gabel El Rosas had the lowest coral cover with 50 % (3.5 m depth) and 26 % (8.5 m depth) respectively, but this may be due in particular to the shaded and steep reef slope.

 

Water temperatures were consistently 30 °C at all survey sites down to about 10 m depth. Below that, the temperature slowly decreased, dropping to about 27 °C at 40 m depth. In the shallow water of the bay and on the reef flat, the temperature was as high as 36 °C in the afternoon, yet there was little mortality or coral bleaching evident in the corals in this area. This is because the corals living here, together with their symbiotic algae, the zooxanthellae, are adapted to these high temperatures: In summer, at low tide and in the afternoon, temperatures are regularly in this extreme range.

Consequently, only those species that can cope with these high temperatures can settle permanently in these shallow areas: First of all, the bright pink hood coral Stylophora pistillata, but also the brush coral Pocillopora, massive Porites-coral, brain corals Platygyra  and also some branching Acropora species.

Certainly some corals were a bit lighter in colour, due to the increased temperatures in summer – caused by a lower zooxanthellae density. Here, however, one cannot yet speak of “coral bleaching“, in which the coral in a state of distress practically expells all its zooxanthellae. Overall, we observed only a few cases of coral bleaching, where the coral was almost white and had completely expelled its symbiotic algae.

The corals of the intact reefs around Marsa Shagra are diverse and have a good number of species:

The stony corals of different growth forms – from plate-, branching- or column-shaped, to massive blocks – form the foundation of the reef with their calcareous skeletons: habitat for a fascinating and closely interwoven community of countless organisms from algae to crustaceans, mollusks, cnidarians to echinoderms and worms. Because of their symbiotic algae, the zooxanthellae, the stony corals are predominant in the light-flooded shallow areas down to about 20 m depth.

The soft corals, with their eight-fold symmetry and eight feathered tentacles, are most common at the end of the bay where there is a high sedimentation.
Their relatives, the sea whips and gorgonians are more common in the deeper areas, as they usually lack zooxanthellae and feed primarily on catching zooplankton. A moderate to strong current is of course very beneficial to them, as a continuous supply of plankton.

The gorgeous Elphinstone Reef, about 15 km from the coast, has lush soft coral forests on its plateaus and drop-offs, as well as huge sea fans, sea whips and black corals, due to these current-rich conditions. A breathtaking abundance of fish swarm around the reef like a cloud of several “onion skins”:
The “Wall-of-Anthias” is formed closely to the reef by myriads of sea goldies (Pseudanthias squamipinnis). In between, of course, there are numerous predators, such as groupers. Also, wrasses and butterflyfish are constantly searching for invertebrates, wandering parrotfish are picking for algae on the ground. The largest species of wrasse is the vulnerable and strictly protected Napoleon wrasse, which can crack even the largest and hardest-shelled invertebrates with its bulging lips: Besides large snails or lobsters, even the coral-eating crown-of-thorns starfish with their poisonous spines are on its menu.
Shoals of fusiliers form the second “onion skin”. They are constantly on the hunt for small plankton organisms in the blue water near to the reef.
Out in the further “onion skins” there are fast-swimming predators such as snappers, jacks and barracudas. Finally, at the top of the food pyramid are the sharks as top predators. Even dolphins, dugongs and turtles are not safe from large oceanic whitetips or tiger sharks.

This was also reported by marine biologist Dr. Ahmed M. Shawky in his interesting and vivid presentation about the dugong population along the Egyptian Red Sea coast. Ahmed also conducted an extra Dugong Specialty with our youngest diver: This specialty is part of a modular teaching program on Red Sea life specifically for children. Ahmed conducts this for school classes, among others, to instill respect and appreciation for the fascinating but fragile underwater world in even the youngest members of society.

A special highlight was the Zodiac trip to Long Canyon – already on the boat trip we met a group of spinner dolphins. One after the other we dived through a long tunnel system in the reef plateau of Shaab Abu Dabab. After leaving the canyon we visited a wreck at the end of the dive.

At the end of our eventful stay we did some nice extended dives at the Marsa Shagra house reef. Especially the early morning dives at 6 am, but also the late afternoon dives, where you come out of the water shortly after sunset, have their special charm.
And of course the Night Dive – according to one of the participants who likes to do five to six dives a day, this is “the most important dive of the day”, which should be never missed:
During the nightdive, you can expect to see numerous whimsical invertebrates which are hidden during the day, as well as hunting moray eels. In some cases they were successful in their hunt before our eyes…
The big Mangrove Red Snapper “Fatima” is also a firm attraction during the night dive in the house reef, beneath countless other discoveries, surprises, or rare species.
The fascinating Basket Star is a speciman of huge brittle stars with finely branched arms, that emerges from the crevices of the reef only at night to catch plankton. In normal daylight it immediately retreats – we were able to observe it undisturbed with a red light lamp.
We also met the “Spanish Dancer”, a large and very elegant nudibranch of the Red Sea. Not to think if you should miss all this….

Finally, at the end of the journey, you can enjoy very nice also the magnificent sunrises and sunsets on a hill. With a view of the sea, the desert, the mountains … and Marsa Shagra Village. 🙂

Reef Check 2021

Reef Check EcoDiver Kurs & Surveys 2021 in Marsa Shagra

Vom 5.-12.8.2021 fand wieder ein Reef Check Kurs mit anschließenden Riffuntersuchungen (Surveys) im Rahmen unseres Riffmonitoring Programms bei Red Sea Diving Safari (RSDS) statt.
Wie letztes Mal wieder in Marsa Shagra.
In 2020 mussten die Reef Check Aktivitäten wegen einem kleinen fiesen Virus leider ausfallen…
Doch dieses Jahr lagen uns fast keine Hindernisse im Weg (außer einigen nicht nennenswerten Ein- und Ausreiseformalitäten) und so kam es zum ersten Kurs und Surveys seit 2019!
Wer konnte, war geimpft und getestet sowieso, RSDS hatte ein entsprechendes Hygiene-Konzept eingeführt, der gesamte Staff war bereits im Frühjahr geimpft worden.

Unser dynamisches Survey Team bestand aus sieben Teilnehmern aus Ägypten, Österreich, Tschechischer Republik und Deutschland, im Alter von 10 bis 64 Jahren. Einige von ihnen nahmen schon seit vielen Jahren regelmäßig an den Surveys teil. Schnell hatten sich alle kennengelernt und nach dem EcoDiver Kurs in wechselnden Buddy Teams zusammengefunden.

Der EcoDiver Kurs legt ein besonderes Augenmerk auf die menschlichen Einflüsse im Riff: Überfischung, mechanische Schäden, Überdüngung, Verschmutzung und Müll, sowie Korallenbleichen oder Korallenkrankheiten und auch Frassschäden, die auf mögliche Ungleichgewichte im Ökosystem hindeuten. Für die vier Kurs-Teilnehmer war diese Betrachtungsweise neu – als Sporttaucher hatten sie zuvor eher auf andere Dinge geachtet, v.a. auf (große) Fische, oder auffällige Korallen und Wirbellose, und weniger darauf „wie es den Korallen geht“, Details im Bewuchs, Frassspuren, Algen & Schwämme, Angelschnüre oder Bruchschäden durch Taucher oder Boote.
Man kann sagen, die „Unterwasserwahrnehmung“ ändert sich durch den Kurs.

Der 4 tägige EcoDiver Kurs vom 5.-8.8.2021 umfasste vier Theorie-Lektionen: Einführung & RC Methode, Fische, Wirbellose & menschliche Einflüsse, sowie Substrat (Korallen, Algen, Riffgestein, Sand etc.).
Das „Beach-Exercise“, bei dem die Reef Check Methode sozusagen auf dem Trockenen geübt wird, fand diesmal erstmalig nicht am Beach, sondern im Restaurant statt. Trotzdem hatten wir wieder eine Menge Spaß und konnten es kaum erwarten, das Erlernte bei den echten Riffuntersuchungen (Surveys) anzuwenden.
Wir führten täglich zwei Trainings-Tauchgänge im Riff durch, bei denen wir die Identifizierung der Indikatororganismen und die Unterwasser-Handzeichen übten und auch einen Test-Survey durchführten. 
Am Ende des Kurses standen freilich die Tests. Doch das war überhaupt kein Problem, alle Teilnehmer haben bestanden und sind jetzt zertifizierte Reef Check EcoDiver.
Es galt insgesamt 200 Fotos zu den Fischen, Wirbellosen, Substratkategorien, sowie zu den menschlichen Einflüssen, wie etwa Korallenbruch, Müll oder Angelschnüre zu erkennen… und manch einer äußerte sogar, dass die Tests Spaß gemacht hätten…

Auf den Kurs folgten wie immer fünf Reef Check Surveys entlang zweier Tiefenstufen. Die Plätze für unsere Riffuntersuchungen waren diesmal:

Abu Nawas Garden
Marsa Shagra nord
Marsa Shagra süd
Sharm Abu Dabab
Marsa Gabel El Rosas nord

Die Buddy Teams wechselten im Laufe der Tage durch. So konnte jeder Teilnehmer mindestens einmal die drei verschiedenen Surveys (Fische, Substrat und Wirbellose/menschliche Einflüsse) durchführen und die Daten aufnehmen.
Mal bildete der ägyptische Meeresbiologe zusammen mit dem 10-jährigen Open Water Diver ein Buddy Team, oder die frisch zertifizierte EcoDiverin mit dem Divemaster aus Wien mit 10 Jahren Reef Check Erfahrung.

Der erste Survey startete in Sharm Abu Dabab. Das Substrat-Team ermittelte einen Korallenbedeckungsgrad von 41 % (Hartkorallen (HC) 38 % ; Weichkorallen (SC) 3 %) entlang der 8,5m – Tiefenstufe. In der flacheren, also lichtreicheren 3,5 m Tiefenstufe waren es dann insgesamt sogar 55 % Korallenbedeckung (HC 51 % ; SC 4 %).
Beim Fisch-Survey waren in Sharm Abu Dabab, wie auch an fast allen anderen Plätzen die Falterfische die häufigste Fischgruppe mit 5,75 (in 8,5m Tiefe) bzw. 7,5 (in 3,5m Tiefe) Individuen pro 20 m Transekt. Es folgten die Papageifische mit 4 (in 8,5m Tiefe) bzw. 4,25 (in 3,5m Tiefe) Individuen pro 20 m Transekt. Bei den Zackenbarschen, die ein Indikator für Überfischung sind, wurde über beide Tiefenstufen im Durchschnitt nur ein Zackenbarsch pro 20 m Transekt aufgenommen. In 2019 wurde ein neuer Anlegesteg nur etwa 20 m von dem Surveyplatz gebaut, wodurch die Fischerei hier möglicherweise zugenommen hat.
Korallenschäden oder Müll konnten wir nicht feststellen.
Bei den Wirbellosen fanden wir in beiden Tiefenstufen nur Riffmuscheln. Die nachtaktiven Seeigel, Garnelen oder Langusten verbargen sich tagsüber tief in den Spalten und Höhlen im Riff. Bei unseren Nachttauchgängen konnten wir sie beobachten, so wie auch viele weitere interessante Lebewesen. 

Es folgten die Surveys am Marsa Shagra Hausriff, an der Nordseite und an der Südseite am Außenriff.
In Marsa Shagra nord fanden wir mit 74 % (3,5 m Tiefe) bzw. 59 % (8,5 m Tiefe) den höchsten Korallenbedeckungsgrad von allen Survey Plätzen, wie auch die meisten Papageifische und Zackenbarsche, mit durchschnittlich 8,5 bzw. 1,75 Individuen pro 20 m Transekt.

In Abu Nawas Garden fanden wir die meisten Falterfische mit 10 Individuen pro 20 m Transekt.

Der Survey Platz an der Nordseite der langen und schmalen Bucht Marsa Gabel El Rosas wies mit 50 % (3,5 m Tiefe) bzw. 26 % (8,5 m Tiefe) den geringsten Korallenbedeckungsgrad auf, was aber insbesondere an dem schattigen und steilen Riffhang liegen dürfte.

Die Wassertemperaturen betrugen an allen Survey-Plätzen durchgängig 30 °C bis in ca. 10 m Tiefe. Darunter nahm die Temperatur langsam ab, und sank auf ca. 27 °C in 40m Tiefe. Im Flachwasser der Bucht und auf dem Riffdach betrug die Temperatur nachmittags sogar bis zu 36 °C, trotzdem war bei den in diesem Bereich wachsenden Korallen kaum Mortalität oder Korallenbleichen zu erkennen. Das liegt daran, dass die hier lebenden Korallen und ihre symbiotischen Algen, die Zooxanthellen, an diese hohen Temperaturen angepasst sind: Im Sommer, bei Ebbe und am Nachmittag liegen die Temperaturen regelmäßig in diesem extremen Bereich.
In diesen flachen Bereichen können sich folglich nur jene Arten dauerhaft ansiedeln, welche mit diesen hohen Temperaturen auch zurechtkommen: Hier wäre als erstes die knallig pinkfarbene Griffelkoralle Stylophora pistillata zu nennen, aber auch die Himbeerkoralle Pocillopora, Blockkorallen Porites, Platygyra-Hirnkorallen und auch einige astförmige Acropora-Arten.
Sicherlich waren einige Korallen aufgrund der erhöhten Temperaturen im Sommer etwas heller gefärbt – bedingt durch eine geringere Zooxanthellendichte. Hier kann man aber noch nicht von „Korallenbleichen“ sprechen, bei dem die Koralle in einer Notlage praktisch alle ihre Zooxanthellen vor die Tür setzt. Insgesamt beobachteten wir nur wenige Fälle von Korallenbleichen, bei denen also die Koralle fast weiß war und vollständig ihre Symbiose-Algen ausgestoßen hatte.

Die Korallen der intakten Riffe um Marsa Shagra sind vielfältig und artenreich:
Die Steinkorallen der verschiedensten Wuchsformen – von platten-, ast- oder säulenförmig, bis hin zu massiven Blöcken – bilden mit ihren Kalkskeletten das Fundament des Riffes: Lebensraum für eine faszinierende und eng verwobene Lebensgemeinschaft aus zahllosen Organismen von Algen über Krebstiere, Mollusken, Nesseltiere bis hin zu Stachelhäutern und Würmern.
Wegen ihre symbiotischen Algen, den Zooxanthellen, sind die Steinkorallen in den lichtdurchfluteten flacheren Bereichen bis in etwa 20 m Tiefe vorherrschend.

Die Weichkorallen mit ihren acht gefiederten Tentakeln sind vor allem am Anfang der Bucht, wo es ein hohes Sedimentaufkommen gibt, häufig anzutreffen. Ihre Verwandten, die Seepeitschen und Hornkorallen sind eher in den tieferen Bereichen anzutreffen, da sie meist keine Zooxanthellen besitzen und sich vornehmlich vom Fang von Zooplankton ernähren.
Eine mäßige bis kräftige Strömung ist ihnen natürlich sehr zuträglich, da hierdurch kontinuierlich neues Plankton herangetragen wird.

Das etwa 15 km von der Küste entfernte Elphinstone-Riff besitzt aufgrund dieser strömungsreichen Bedingungen üppige Weichkorallenwälder auf seinen Plateaus und Steilwänden, so wie auch riesige Seefächer, Seepeitschen und schwarze Korallen.
Ein atemberaubender Fischreichtum umschwärmt das Riff wie eine Wolke mit mehreren „Zwiebelschalen“:
Die „Wall-of-Anthias“ wird eng am Riff von Myriaden von Fahnenbarschen gebildet. Dazwischen tummeln sich natürlich zahlreiche Räuber, wie z.B. Zackenbarsche. Oder auch die ständig nach Wirbellosen suchenden Lippfische. Der größte von ihnen ist der bedrohte und streng geschützte Napoleon-Lippfisch, der mit seinen wulstigen Lippen auch die größten und hartschaligsten Wirbellosen knacken kann: Neben großen Schnecken oder Langusten stehen sogar die korallenfressenden Dornenkronen-Seesterne mit ihren giftigen Stacheln auf seinem Speiseplan.
Schwarmlebende Füsiliere bilden die zweite „Zwiebelschale“. Sie sind ständig auf der Jagd nach kleinen Planktonorganismen.
Weiter außen in den weiteren „Zwiebelschalen“ bewegen sich die schnellschwimmenden Räuber wie Schnapper, Stachelmakrelen oder Barrakudas. An der Spitze der Nahrungspyramide stehen schließlich die Haie als Top-Prädatoren. Vor großen Weißspitzen Hochseehaien oder Tigerhaien sind selbst Delfine, Dugongs und Schildkröten nicht sicher.

Das berichtete auch der Meeresbiologe Dr. Ahmed M. Shawky in seiner interessanten und anschaulichen Präsentation über die Dugong-Population entlang der ägyptischen Rotmeer-Küste. Ahmed führte außerdem ein extra Dugong Specialty mit unserem jüngsten Taucher durch: Dieses Specialty ist Teil eines modularen Lehrprogramms über die Lebewesen des Roten Meeres speziell für Kinder. Ahmed führt dies u.a. für Schulklassen durch, um schon den jüngsten Mitgliedern der Gesellschaft Respekt und Wertschätzung über die faszinierende, aber auch zerbrechliche Unterwasserwelt zu vermitteln.

Ein besonderes Highlight war der Zodiac Ausflug zum Long Canyon – schon auf der Bootsfahrt begegneten wir einer Gruppe von Spinner-Delfinen.
Nacheinander tauchten wir durch ein langes Tunnelsystem im Riffplateau von Shaab Abu Dabab. 
Nach dem Austritt aus dem Canyon besuchten wir noch ein Wrack zum Ende des Tauchgangs.

Am Ende unseres erlebnisreichen Aufenthaltes machten wir noch schöne ausgedehnte Tauchgänge am Marsa Shagra Hausriff.
Besonders die Early Morning Tauchgänge um 6 Uhr morgens, aber auch die Late Afternoon Dives, bei denen man kurz nach Sonnenuntergang erst aus dem Wasser kommt, haben ihren ganz besonderen Reiz.
Und natürlich der Nachttauchgang – laut einem vieltauchenden Teilnehmer, der gerne schonmal fünf bis sechs Tauchgänge am Tag macht, ist dies nämlich „der Wichtigste Tauchgang des Tages“, den man keinesfalls verpassen sollte:

Beim Nightdive darf man neben zahlreichen skurrilen, tagsüber verborgenen Wirbellosen auch jagende Muränen erwarten, die bei ihrer Jagd in einigen Fällen sogar vor unseren Augen erfolgreich waren…
Der riesige Schnapper „Fatima“ ist ebenfalls eine feste Attraktion beim Nachttauchgang im Hausriff, so wie unzählige andere Entdeckungen, Überraschungen, oder seltene Arten.
Das faszinierende Gorgonenhaupt ist ein riesiger Haarstern mit fein verästelten Armen, der erst bei Nacht aus den Spalten des Riffs hervorkommt, um Plankton zu fangen. Bei normalem Tageslicht zieht er sich umgehend zurück – wir konnten ihn mit einer Rotlicht-Lampe ungestört beobachten. Wir trafen auch die „Spanische Tänzerin“, eine große und sehr elegante Nacktschnecke des Roten Meeres.
Nicht auszudenken, wenn man dies alles verpassen sollte…

Aber auch die schönste Zeit geht einmal vorbei und wenn es dann schließlich der Heimreise entgegen geht, kann man sehr schön auch die herrlichen Sonnenauf und -untergänge auf einem Hügel genießen. Mit Blick aufs Meer, die Wüste, die Berge … und auf Marsa Shagra Village.
Bis es dann wieder heißt „Welcome back!“ 🙂